Make Yourself Proud

It’s been a tough couple of weeks.

Tough enough where I want to quit every other day. But I find myself limited in where I can express this. Not with my fellow student leaders: there is too much gossip and pointy things for that. Not anywhere near my mentees: they look up to me just a little too much. Not with my classmates: they all seem to find a way to make their lives sound more difficult than mine. And my close circle of friends is spread across the state at the moment. Some days it feels like everyone is looking at me, expecting me to be great. And that’s when I remind myself of this: the only person I need to make proud is me.

I’m proud of my self for going to sleep instead of pulling an all-nighter and making a plan so that I would still have everything done on time.

I’m proud of myself from coming as far as I have mentally, emotionally, spiritually, and academically.

I’m proud of the work I’ve put in to all the organizations I’ve been part of.

I need to focus on myself right now. I need to be happy with the person I see in the mirror, and I can’t do that if my value comes from how proud other people are of me. So I’m writing this post today because I’m proud of myself for making it to week 3: 2 weeks longer than any other blog I’ve tried to create. And I’m going to keep going, job or no job, and these sinfines will be a reality and even if no one ever reads them: they will be mine.

And you know what? Whenever I shift my focus to being proud of me, instead of waiting for others, I realize other people were already proud of me and all that negativity was in my head.

Do what makes you proud! Be someone you would brag about! I don’t care if that means moving to LA, being a bomb-dot-com parent, or signing up for a class just do it! The only person being hurt by your excuses is you.

You can do it,

Bella

make yourself proud (1)

Leave a Reply

