People Change. Let Them.

 

I bet you think this post is going to be about letting people go- right?

Nah. Someone who used to be nice started being mean: let ’em go! (Easier said than done, I know, but we talk about that another time).

What I’m talking about is when people change and you should consider letting them¬†in.¬†This post is inspired by my good friend Taylor, who gave me great advice after a group text rant that went a little something like this:

Me: I don’t understand, why is she being so nice??? Like, is it genuine? She’s usually so fake with me.

Taylor: One time thing or recent trend?

Me: Recent trend. It feels genuine, but I’m so used to not trusting her.

Taylor: People change sometimes. Watch it and see what happens.

So, I’m watching. It wouldn’t be smart to just jump in and be like “new best friend!! let’s go shopping and braid each other’s hair!!” but my instincts are telling me there might be something new here.

I personally believe forgiveness is one of the most important human abilities, because it means we can rid ourselves or hard feelings and allow others to be different, to be sorry, or to be what we didn’t expect them to be.

We all have things we aren’t proud of, or people we wish we knew how to apologize to. I am certainly not perfect, and I certainly have change even in the last year. So, I’m going to forgive her for the ways she’s treated me in the past, watch, and see what happens.

Let people grow.

Love,

Bella

People change.

 

Leave a Reply

