A Parenthesis in Eternity

What I love about the novella this quote is from (The Alchemist, only about 60 pages long, shouldn’t take you more than 2 hours) is that it forces you to acknowledge how little you are in the world, and how important you interactions with other people are. We are here to love, laugh, share, and experience.  We are here for joy. We are here for a full life. Now, maybe for you that means working a 9-to-5 you don’t care about and squeezing every drop of joy you can possibly get out of family and friends in the mean time, or staying up till 9 pm grading papers to help your students improve, or living in a crappy studio because you refuse to work a job you hate and subsist on painting that don’t sell very well. I don’t know. What I do know is that if you are not happy, you’re doing it wrong. Period. Zero exceptions. Depression is a beast that can only be fought by being happy (meaning finding things and people that make you happy, not just “being happy”) and so even that is not an excuse.

This very moment you are in is so precious. Life can suck big time, but when life sucks you have to grab onto those happy moments and save them. Right now, my family is living in an apartment that is too small for us and neither me nor my mom is working, meaning we are crammed together in a way that makes us both insane. So once a week, my mom uses precious gas to get me to the library where I can breathe in the smell of ink and paper while she relaxes in the apartment by herself for a couple of hours. A wonderful treat for a both that would not happen if we were both working (but still cross your fingers for us). My sister got a dog, despite space issues (the dog doesn’t care but we do), because she needed the happiness that comes with loving and caring for a dog. It’s expensive, but we manage because at the end of the day, I’d rather be happy than slightly less poor.

Maybe next week, my moment will not be at the library, but starting a new job, and that will provide a happiness I could not have experienced otherwise. Take the joys life has to offer and love them. Love the people around you. Take a deep breath. Life is a neverending series of moments, and if this one sucked, make the next one better.

Much Love,

Bella

P.S.: 11 Followers! Can you believe it?! I would love to see you guys follow the instagram account: words_of_bella_renee. I will follow back! Feel free to post my graphics, just make sure you tag and/or link my site! 🙂

We are travelers on a cosmic journey,stardust,swirling and dancing in the eddies and whirlpools of infinity. Life is eternal. We have stopped for a moment to encounter each other, to mee

 

 

Leave a Reply

