Celebrate Everyone

Why shouldn’t you be happy when people succeed?

Perhaps the more cynical people reading this will think politically, or remember a time they were the losing corner of a love triangle. Fair enough. Now get rid of that for a second.

Think instead about a time you lost a competition. Were you a sore loser, or did you genuinely congratulate the winner? That’s what I’m talking about.

I’ll give you an example from my life (don’t I always?) I was in a competition where teams had to create a marketable cell phone and a new feature that would make parents want to buy it. We were staying at Emory University, and my roommate and I were on different teams. While I was suffering under a lackluster captain (I might still be a lil bit bitter), my roomie was having an amazing, creative experience. Her team won the contest. Their phone was later released by Nokia. She came back to our room, and I’m steaming mad because there’s no reason our team couldn’t have won, and no one listened to me, blah, blah, blah. I hear the door open, and I really just did not want to be happy for her because I was mad, but I decided if I’d won I wouldn’t have wanted to do that. So I turned around, grinned, and congratulated her. The girl was so excited I was happy for her.  She told me she was afraid to be happy about her win in front of people, because in our social circle, people tended to be jealous about success. We became closer friends that night, and I felt lightyears better about my bad experience.

Being enthusiastic about her success made us both feel better.

Different example: I’m not sure I can ever forgive my “friend” who basically told me I didn’t deserve an award I got that acknowledged four years of hard work. He was mad, who knows why, and instead of at least giving me a smile, he rolled his eyes. People. If someone tells you about an accomplishment it means 1) they’re excited, so let them have it, and 2) that you were important enough for them to want your praise. Seriously. You can’t show a little kindness?

In case you haven’t noticed, kindness is the general theme of these Inspira, because it’s what makes our world a better place.

Be happy for someone. Be proud of them. Give them your enthusiasm.

Much love,

Bella

Be as enthusiastic about the success of others as you are about you own

Leave a Reply

